Managua, Nicaragua

My last stop in Nicaragua is Managua, the capital city. I am only staying here one night to get the Tica bus to Guatemala tomorrow (I say Guatemala, I’ll actually be passing through Honduras and staying a night in San Salvador – two of the most “dangerous” countries to travel to according to much of the US embassy’s guidelines, more on that later).

IMG_2837.JPG
Main street in Managua

Managua really lacks the charm that the colonial cities of Granada and Leon had. For a start it’s much bigger and really hard to navigate. Now, I feel I am pretty good at orientation and I am usually quite ok with just the small guidebook maps for most of the places I go. With grids of streets that look the same, no proper central landmark to orientate yourself and men constantly cat-calling, saying hello or “gringa gringa!” or whistling at you, naturally I ended up getting lost twice.

The first time I was saved by a nice young Nicaraguan engineering student who took me to the one place there really is to go in Managua – Laguna de Tiscapa which is some weird large like next to a hill. The hill gives you a good view and the young man was very pleasant company and I had a great time practicing my Spanish.

IMG_2842.JPG
Laguna de Tiscapa

After that, I went to the cinema in the mall, since I’ve been craving watching a movie. I saw a dubbed version of the film “Going in Style” (“Un Golpe con Estilo”) which I have to reccommend – it was very entertaining and quite a sweet story which I much needed to get over my Leon hangover.

IMG_2846
Top of the hill in Managua

I got lost again on the way back, quite badly lost because a guy on a bike came and told me I was about to go into a really dangerous neighbourhood. He took me back to a play park where it suddenly transpired he had a wife and kids – I thought he was my age up until then. The kids were really sweet there, they kept asking me if I was a gringa (for those of you who don’t know, gringo or gringa is the Central American term for Americans and other foreigners, you get it a lot if you’re blonde and pale af)

Back to the hostel for a chilled night writing and reading. Up at 3:45 for the Tica Bus.

Published by

eqlever

E.Q. Lever is the pseudonym of a hopeful young writer living in London, England.

3 thoughts on “Managua, Nicaragua”

    1. Very true, I am finding other large Central American cities similar – it was enough for me to see it on my bus in and my shuttle to Antigua out. I am enjoying the smaller, colonial cities far more as I find that each one generally has its own unique atmosphere. I’ll actually be flying down to Peru from Mexico City in a month and I have a feeling that navigating the airport there is going to be quite an interesting experience…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment