Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua

The name Ometepe derives from the Aztec language of Nahauatl’s words for two mountains. This it has – two volcanoes in fact, and this is probably what makes the island so striking.

IMG_2696
Two volcano peaks of Ometepe as viewed from the ferry

In order to get to Ometepe you need to take a 50 cordoba ($1.7) ferry from San Jose which is accessible by a taxi from the nearby Rivas. The ferry is about an hour and dropped me off in Moyogalpa near the largest of the two volcanoes; Concepcion. Moyogalpa is probably the largest town on the island, but even this is small without much going on – my visit here was a lot more subdued compared to San Juan del Sur. That said, I did enjoy the restaurant Picante right near the port and next to the hostel I was staying at. I went here with an American pilot I met at the hostel who was also travelling around alone, and both our meals and drinks – mine was a cheese quesadilla – cost under $20. The place is also owned by a very nice Swahili man who it was good to converse with,

I would recommend hiring a motorcycle if you can ride one – which I can’t. But with quiet and relatively alright roads, this is probably the best way to travel the island.

I took a bus to El Ojo de Agua, an inland cold Spring which was very refreshing and even had a Tarzan swing which was very fun.

IMG_2718.JPG
Ojo de Agua, a pleasant spring on the Isla de Ometepe

Tours to hike the volcanoes – and you need a tour guide – costs around $20, but be warned, it is hard!

IMG_2724.JPG
Sign for the volcano

All in all, I am a little underwhelmed with Ometepe. If it is trekking you want, do stopover, but otherwise I am not so sure I would return.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

eqlever

E.Q. Lever is the pseudonym of a hopeful young writer living in London, England.

Leave a Reply

