Day 2 – Welcome to New York

I started the day off with a cream cheese bagel in the Starbucks underneath the Empire State building. I was in quite a good mood, since on the subway down an Acapella group started singing, which I thought was very entertaining for an otherwise boring ride down.

IMG_2091[1].JPG
My NYC bagel breakfast

I had a walk up to the New York City Library after this which I very much enjoyed too. I even sat in the reading room and did some work – I’m trying to get some books completed as part of this trip – and I found the atmosphere completely relaxing, if a little cold.

IMG_2109[1].JPG
Reading room in the New York Public Library
I also went to the Hershey’s shop in Times Square and got a free Milk Chocolate bar using  a voucher from my hostel and spotted this sign in the shop which describes me perfectly.

IMG_2129.JPG
A cute sign I saw in the Hershey’s shop on Time’s Square

What followed this was a mammoth walk from Times Square all the way down Broadway to the 9/11 memorial.

IMG_2125.JPG
Times Square

 

On my way, I passed the Museum of Maths ($10 entry) and had a browse in their gift shop because I was feeling cheap and I was going to have a look in the Museum of Sex, but this remained particularly aloof and I was unable to find the building.

IMG_2133.JPG
Museum of Maths Entrance

I had a lovely pizza in The Big Pizza Slice just on Broadway. It was delightful, though there are some cheaper – a few pizza shops do a slice for a dollar!

IMG_2135.JPG
My pizza slice lunch

I then bypassed NYU. I have a confession that I am considering applying to do a journalism course here. It looked quite decent, though I have to admit that I’m not completely blown away at present.

 

IMG_2138.JPG
New York University Building

After this I made my way down to the Memorial Square, bypassing Canal Street which I found funny because it’s also the name of the street of gay bars in Manchester; the city I went to university.

IMG_2142.JPG

There was a sign I found funny too – warning of see-saws!

img_2140

 

I finally made it to the Memorial Garden, a very poignant site. When I went to New York back in 2011, this wasn’t finished, so it was quite harrowing to see the two cascading waterfall pools which represent the building bottoms.

IMG_2154.JPG
One of the Memorial pools in the 9/11 park

Though the One World Trade centre was covered in mist.

IMG_2156.JPG
One World Trade Centre Covered in mist

As was the Statue of Liberty and Brooklyn Bridge, both of which I saw when walking around the tip of Manhattan island.

IMG_2172.JPGIMG_2160.JPG

And finally I got to Wall Street, bustling with yuppies making their way home.

IMG_2173.JPG

I wouldn’t recommend this walk – my feet are aching now. But I did get to see a lot of the city, and I passed an anti-Trump protest along the way.

 

Published by

eqlever

E.Q. Lever is the pseudonym of a hopeful young writer living in London, England.

2 thoughts on “Day 2 – Welcome to New York”

  1. That’s definitely a monstrous walk! But walking is definitely the best way to see the city, and you found lots of great stuff. 🙂 The NYPL is one of our favorite buildings. If you’re planning on visiting Rockefeller Center, also check out Halal Guys on 53rd and 6th, their platters are quite renowned and only cost $7. Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, thank you! I definitely agree – walking is such a cheap and healthy way to experience a new place and you can soak up the atmosphere at your own pace. Thanks for the suggestion – I was actually thinking of going to the Rockefeller Center tomorrow so I’ll go check it out! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

