Saying Goodbye

I am never good at saying goodbye, but saying goodbye to all my friends and family this time round was particularly hard – not least because my mum didn’t seem stop talking about how far away I’m going to be.

I know they’re all worried because I’m going alone. And maybe that scares me a lot too (though I should point out I’m not completely alone – my favourite stuffed dolphin toy named Dolphin snuck into my bag to accompany me, and somehow knowing that he’s there comforts me immensely.) Yes, there are risk factors of going alone, but there are also benefits – I’m travelling on my own terms after all and I have no one but myself to blame if things go all wrong. I think they might be fine once they hear a bit about how I’m getting on.

The indefinite nature of my trip makes this quite hard as well. Though I definitely like the fact that I can currently go to wherever takes my fancy at the end of my volunteering in Costa Rica, not having a returned flight booked means that I don’t have a fixed date for when I’ll next see my friends and family.

But it’s also good in a way I guess – absence makes the heart grow fonder, doesn’t it?

It was lovely to have my brother and dad drop me off at the airport this morning, and it was emotional hugging my mum goodbye. But I’ll keep in touch with all of my friends and family one way or another, whether that means sending my mum a daily email to let her know I’m still alive, or seeing my friends back home again in six months to a year where I will be able to annoyingly bombard them with stories of my travels.

Published by

eqlever

E.Q. Lever is the pseudonym of a hopeful young writer living in London, England.

Leave a Reply

