My Travelling Archive

I’ve actually managed to travel quite a lot over my 22 years and I don’t think I’ve ever really appreciated it as much as I should have. Naturally, originating from the UK meant that European travel was the easiest and I’ve been to a lot of places across the continent. Additionally, I have managed to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia, Egypt and New York. I have never been to Asia or South America, so I am very excited to get to go there on this trip. In the meantime I wanted to list a few places I had been, and I also included some photos for my own nostalgic purposes.

Europe:

Bear in mind I achieved a lot of these countries interrailing when I was 18:

  • France x7 (including Disneyland, yay!)
  • Spain x7 (including Menorca, Madrid, Avila, Malaga, Grenada, Valencia and Barcelona)
  • Gibraltar
  • Luxembourg (Slept in a station and was given money because people thought we were homeless…)
  • Greece (Greek Islands of Kos, Lesbos and Nisyros, but never the mainland)
  • Belgium (Somehow ended up involved in a street fight here)
  • The Netherlands
  • Germany (Cologne, Berlin and Munich)
  • Czech Republic
  • Austria
  • Hungary
  • Serbia (spent about an hour here, wouldn’t recommend…)
  • Slovenia (beautiful, underrated country)
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Croatia x3 (Literally travelled the entire coastline)
  • Italy x4 (Rome, Florence, Pisa, Siena Venice, Turin etc.)
  • The Vatican
  • Switzerland (to see CERN Hadron Collider)
  • Scotland and Wales (though interestingly never Ireland)

 

Elsewhere:

  • New York, USA (February 2011)
  • Egypt (Cruise from Luxor to Aswan, flight to Cairo and flight to Hurghada on the Red Sea)
  • St Petersburg, Russia
  • Iceland

 

I thought I would add a few pictures of my travels so far too, I’m hoping to take much better ones next!

 

IMG_0644.JPG
Birth of Venus painting by Botticelli, displayed in the Uffizi Gallery in Florence
IMG_0669.JPG
A beautiful view of the skyline of Florence from a nearby steep hill in 2016. Although I look a bit grumpy, I am enjoying myself, promise…
IMG_0942.JPG
Me doing the classic pose at the famous Leaning Tower of Pisa
img_0558
View of the famous Duomo from one of the gun holes in the Florence fortress walls

 

 

 

img_0623
View from the Uffizi Gallery of Florence, Italy 2016
14914759_10154069719907532_1348682439_n
Me revisiting my youth on Hvar Island, Croatia 2016
14914819_10154069720037532_601907650_n
Alix and I enjoying one of our scenic ice creams, Croatia 2016
14963065_10154069720327532_266089883_n
Alix and I loving the sunset, Croatia
136.JPG
Me looking a bit confused by a small Egyptian Sphinx, 2008
221.JPG
A very disgruntled look from me once again as I stand at the bottom of one of the Great Pyramids of Giza, Cairo, Egypt 2008
156
Me on a boat crossing the river Nile, excited to go on my first ever camel ride!
007 (3).JPG
Me skiing in Meribel, The French Alps 2008. Excuse the pink all-in-one suit – it wasn’t mine and it was cheaper to borrow this than to purchase my own! Still a terrible skier though…
DSC01285.JPG
Me trying to make sense of the guidebook whilst visiting the Asklepeon – the world’s first hospital created by Hippocrates on the Greek island of Kos – 2009
dscf8650
Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias, Valencia, Spain 2014
dscf8715
A famous dish of paella, Valencia Spain 2014
dscf8724
Me and Lea – a lovely German girl attending the same Spanish school as us – aboard a boat on Lake Abufuera near Valencia, Spain, 2014. The place is known for its amazing paella and we all cycled here from the city, passing wonderful sights like the nudist beach along the way.
dscf9037
My mum and I enjoying a cheese fondue in the Christmas Markets in Basel, Switzerland 2014. The cheese overload later gave us both nightmares – mine involved a quantum physics exam I was due to sit the following January and had revised no where near enough for…
DSCF9843.JPG
Me posing for my new record cover in the Blue Lagoon, Iceland 2015
dscf9720
The Great Rift Valley, the joining of the Eurasian and the North American tectonic plates in Iceland

 

 

dscf9775
Geysir in Iceland
dscf9781
Gulfoss Falls in southern Iceland, 2015
dscf9835
Sculpture of a whale skeleton, Reykjavik 2015
100_2250
The Trevi Fountain in Rome 2011

 

Published by

eqlever

E.Q. Lever is the pseudonym of a hopeful young writer living in London, England.

Leave a Reply

